Ms H's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

School’s out for summer!


School’s out for ever! Ha, wait…maybe!? I have decided to take a leave of absence next year. Which means, come August, no back to school shopping for me! I will need to make a final decision by February if I want to go back or not. You see, teachers in my district have the option to request for a one or two year leave of absence. No pay. Small fee, but if I go back after a year, or two, then I get that shall fee back. Many teachers decide to get married, have kids, spend all their money, etc, but I saved. I need a break from the kiddos. This is the perfect opportunity! I am taking full advantage of it, too. Many of my coworkers are jealous of me. When they found out I was perfectly healthy, not planning on teaching at a different location, want tied down with little ones at home, they congratulated me. “Good for you!” and “I wish I could do that.” were very common responses. I kept my decision pretty quiet. I did not want to be treated differently. Some asked if I was going to leave at the end if the year “balls out, sticking it to them?” But that was not my intention. Yes, I had my ups and downs, but I didn’t want to leave in a negative note. I didn’t want people treating me differently or acting different around me. I only told one of my five classes. My soccer team didn’t find out until the last day of the season at awards night. You may think that is mean or rude, but I want looking for any special treatment or gifts. At the end if the year, I told all of my students to have a nice summer and just smiled when they responded “see you next year!” It’s hard to believe that it is over for a while. It still seems like any end of the year. All going on summer break. Except it was different this time. I was one of the last ones to leave the hallway. I mean, I’ve had my share of late nights at the office, but this time it was different when the lights dimmed in the hallway. It wasn’t just quiet. It was eerie quiet. I had been so happy for this day to come, but something hit me when I finally realized that I would never walk down that back hallway again with my coworker, my mentor, my friend. It was her last day, too. But she had been working far longer than I had. Happy retirement tears of joy ran down her face as we went to check out mailboxes for the last time together. That’s when it hit me. That’s when the smile went away and the tears appeared. I cried some more when I turned in my keys. And even more when I hugged her “see you later” for the last time in her classroom, because it wasn’t goodbye, I’ll see you again. Looking back for one last time as I left the parking lot, realizing that the next time I’m there, it just won’t be the same. See you later, I will never forget, thirteen years in my heart forever…

No Responses to “School’s out for summer!”

Leave a Reply

